Ignorance of the law is no defence, so make note of where you cannot use your cell phone.
- Arkansas - only in force for school bus drivers
- Arizona - effective only for school bus drivers
- California - effective Jan. 2008 you must use a hands free device.
- Brooklyn, Ohio have passed an ordnance making it illegal to use handheld cell phones.
- District of Columbia
- New Jersey
- New York - hands-free use is allowable and emergency use of a hand-held cell phone.
Many States currently have legislation pending regarding the use of cell phones. Most States also cover using cell phones in the case of accidents or other law-breaking activities while driving a vehicle in their respective traffic legislation.
- Newfoundland and Labrador it is illegal to use a hand-held cell phone while driving.Fines can range from $45(CDN) to $180(CDN).
- Quebec - effective April 1st, 2008 - only hands-free devices are allowed to be used. Fines will range from $80 to $100(CDN) and 3 demerit points will be added.
- Nova Scotia - effective April 1st, 2008 only hands-free devices are allowed to be used. Fines here will range from $165(CDN) for the first offence, second offence will be $222(VDN) and for any that it will be $337(CDN).
While not all the provinces and territories ban the use of cell phones, each of the provinces and territories do have "distracted driver" which are outlined in the respective Motor Vehicle and Highway Traffic Acts for each province and territory. If it is proven that the use of a cell phone was cause for an accident, speeding or other vehicle infraction - you will be charged.
Countries which have banned hand-held cell phone usage:
- Austria - fined for using cell phone
- Belgium - can use a cell phone when vehicle is parked
- Czech Republic
- Germany - use only when vehicle is not on
- Hong Kong
- South Africa
- United Kingdom
This is not an exhaustive list but one which I will maintain to ensure that mobile office professionals stay on the right side of the law.